Annual Meeting 2019 Highlights

Dec 10, 2019 | Reserves

How many NERRds can fit in a photo? Infinite. Photos courtesy NOAA’s Office for Coastal Management, Elkhorn Slough’s Dave Feliz, and other awesome NERRds.

High on our gratitude list is everyone who helped make this year’s NERRS/NERRA Annual Meeting in Charleston such an energizing experience. Thanks to our fantastic hosts from the ACE Basin and North Inlet-Winyah Bay Reserves and NOAA’s conference support team and to every NERRd who really brought it this year.

That includes you! Your enthusiasm and camaraderie are what make this gathering of our national family so special. Where else can we connect with so many colleagues who really get it? Who not only understand the work we do, but are full of ideas and experiences that we can use when we get back “to the office”?

Thank you field trip leaders!

It wouldn’t be a NERRS meeting if we spent the week in a conference room and it wouldn’t be a NERRS field trip if we didn’t pack in a little learning or habitat building. Thank you to the South Carolina team who created so many opportunities for us to experience your beautiful coasts—and the critters that live there!

Thank you sponsors!

Our meeting would not be the same without our incredible sponsors. Our heartfelt gratitude to them.

Thank you super NERRds!

Well-deserved! Congratulations to award recipients Sue Bickford (front left) and Erica Seiden (front right).

In a talented, hardworking group like the NERRS, there is no shortage of outstanding people doing extraordinary things. But this year four super-NERRds stood out in the eyes of their colleagues and the System. Warm congratulations to…

  • Erica Sieden, ecosystem services manager at NOAA’s Office for Coastal Management and recipient of the NERRS/NERRA award —the highest honor we confer. “As much as we honor the work she’s done, we are especially grateful for how she does it,” says Rebecca Roth, Executive Director of NERRA. “Her most inspiring leadership skill is how she puts people first, and in turn helps us all build a reservoir of gratitude.”
  • Sue Bickford, director of stewardship and GIS services at Maine’s Wells Reserve and recipient of the NERRS Impact Award.  From the GIS Center she founded at Wells 20 years ago, Sue has produced thousands of maps, educated many of us about how to use them effectively, and pushed the NERRS to stay on the cutting-edge of technology including unmanned aerial systems and soundscape ecology.
  • Kim Cressman, SWMP Coordinator at the Grand Bay Reserve, received a NERRS technical award, not only for her skills as a scientist, but for always working to increase technical knowledge and share that with others. As noted by a peer, “Kim’s contributions cannot be over-emphasized and her dedication and passion for learning and sharing knowledge will help the Reserve system continue to grow.”
  • Jeremy Miller, SWMP Coordinator at Wells Reserve, received a NERRS technical award for his contribution to the success of SWMP and Sentinel Sites. He has leveraged the NERRS technical toolbox to help many Reserves understand, improve, and expand their monitoring programs.

Thank you NERRS Videographers!

Enjoy this year’s People’s Choice winner River Rovers at the Lake Superior Estuarium.

Now in its sixth year, the NERRS Film Fest showcased amazing video talent and drew NERRDy film buffs  from across the System. Congratulations to all of our winners— we’ll be sharing your videos on NERRA’s Youtube channel. And many thanks to our intrepid organizers Jen Plunket of South Carolina’s North Inlet-Winyah Bay Reserve and Jace Tunnel from Texas’s Mission-Aransas Reserve. We couldn’t do this without you—and we’ll bring the popcorn next year.

Congratulations to this year’s Film Fest award winners!

Thank you extraordinary auctioneers!

Auctioneers Becky Swerida, Chesapeake Bay Reserve-Maryland, and Chris Bowser, Hudson River Reserve, work the room.

SOLD! Our incredible donors, auctioneers, and of course, bidders all contributed to the most successful NERRA auction ever. And we know this didn’t happen by accident—kudos to our auction committee who continues to find ways to make each year better than the last: Nik Charov, Chris Bowser, Coreen Weilminster, Maggie Pletta, Jace Tunnell, Sue Bickford, and Pete Wiley. 

Also, thanks to Becky Swerida, Christina Whiteman, Dave Feliz, Jen West, Lisa Auermuller, Cory Riley, Anne Cox, Adrianne Harrison, Todd Bochholz, Jen Read, Brandon Puckett, Jessica Shepard, Jessica McIntosh, Jessica Kinsella, Abi Locatis Prochaska, Andrew Thomas, Olivia Bueno, Mary Ellen Williams, and all the others who chipped in at the last minute whenever and wherever help was needed.  You all rock! 


Worth a thousand words

Hasta la vista, Jobos Bay comrades. We look forward to seeing you and everyone else in Washington State next year!

Last but not least, we appreciate everyone who snapped photos and took the time to share them on social media (we’re looking at you Beth Thomas and Deborah Rudd!). Every family album needs lots of candids. Want to rekindle the Annual Meeting glow? Check out the annual meeting photo gallery from our veteran photographer, Dave Feliz, manager of the Elkhorn Slough Reserve and the one from Hansje Gold-Krueck from NOAA’s Office for Coastal Management.

ReservesAnnual Meeting 2019 Highlights